Hazard Mitigation

What is Hazard Mitigation: The Hazard Mitigation Grant Program (HMGP) provides grants to States and local governments to implement long-term hazard mitigation measures after a major disaster declaration. The purpose of the HMGP is to reduce the loss of life and property due to natural disasters and to enable mitigation measures to be implemented during the immediate recovery from a disaster.

Who Offers it:  FEMA.  The HMGP is authorized under Section 404 of the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act.  Hazard Mitigation Grant Program funding is only available to applicants that reside within a Presidentially declared disaster area.

When is it offered:  Its offered by FEMA after presidential disaster declaration  

Who can qualify:  While the state or local government is the grantee Eligible subapplicants include private non-profit organizations.  Individual businesses and homeowners may not apply, however a community may apply on their behalf.  To determine if you qualify contact the FEMA regional office listed below.  The process takes 12 months to complete and up to another 12 months before it is approved.

Must it be paid back?:  No

More Information:


For more information you can contact your regional FEMA office  Frequently Asked Questions



FEMA encourages Applicants and subapplicants to seek technical assistance early in the application period by contacting their appropriate FEMA Regional Office. Table 5 shows which States are served by each FEMA Region. Contact information for FEMA Regional Offices is provided at http://www.fema.gov/about/contact/regions.shtm. Contact information for each State Hazard Mitigation Officer (SHMO) is provided at http://www.fema.gov/about/contact/shmo.shtm .


Table 5: FEMA Regions FEMA Region Serving Region I Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont


 Region II New Jersey, New York, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands
Region III Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, West Virginia
Region IV Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee
Region V Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, Wisconsin
Region VI Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas Region VII Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska
Region VIII Colorado, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, Wyoming
Region IX Arizona, California, Hawaii, Nevada, American Samoa, Guam, the Northern Mariana Islands Region X Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, Washington

How do you registerThe Grantee  must submit all HMGP subapplications to FEMA within 12 months of the date of the disaster declaration. Upon written request and justification from the Grantee, FEMA may extend the application submission timeframe in 30- to 90-day increments not to exceed a total extension of 180 days, in the event of extraordinary conditions. For additional information see 44 CFR Section 206.436. Within 24 months of the disaster declaration, FEMA will make determinations on all applications and subapplications for HMGP, whenever possible.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: